Users can still use WhatsApp, but will gradually lose a number of features.
“No, we cannot see your private messages. No, we also will not delete your account. Yes, you can receive it at any time,” said WhatsApp’s statement via Twitter account, quoted Saturday (15/5 /2021).
“After a few weeks with limited functionality, you will no longer be able to receive incoming calls or notifications. WhatsApp will stop forwarding messages and calls to your smartphone,” said WhatsApp.
For those who haven’t accepted the policy, WhatsApp will continue to send notifications in case the user changes their mind.
*checks calendar. pours coffee*. OK. Let’s do this. No, we can’t see your personal messages. No, we won’t delete your account. Yes, you can accept at any time.
— WhatsApp (@WhatsApp) May 14, 2021
But, if you still refuse to agree, then in the end you can no longer use WhatsApp fully. Starting from not being able to create status, reply and mention, forward, and even not being able to export conversations to other applications.
That way, WhatsApp will consider your account as an inactive user and will be deleted in the next 120 days.
If you are reluctant to use WhatsApp, you can immediately delete your WhatsApp account. It’s just that you need to know that this means you also delete chat history, leave all groups, and delete WhatsApp backup data.